Wednesday, August 14, 2013

// // Leave a Comment

Levels of Charity

via Lma’an Yishme’u

The Rambam writes: We are obligated to fill the needs of every poor person according to his previous state. If he does not want to accept tzedaka, we need to find some other means, such as representing it as a gift or a loan.

There are eight levels in giving tzedaka. In descending order, they are:

1 - Giving a man a job so that he is not reliant on others;

2 - Giving without knowing who is the recipient and in such a way that the receiver does not know who is the giver;

3 - Giving in such a way that only the receiver knows who the giver is;

4 - Giving in such a way that only the giver himself knows to whom he is giving;

5 - Giving to the poor before being asked;

6 -Giving after being asked;

7 - Giving less than one is able to, yet with a smile;

8 - Giving in a cheerless manner.

(רמב"ם הל' מתנות עניים פ"ז, פ"י הל' ח-יד)


Post a Comment

Welcome to Mystical Paths comments. Have your say here, but please keep the tone reasonably civil and avoid lashon hara. Due to past commenting problems, all comments are moderated (this may take a few hours.)

Your comments are governed by our Terms of Use, Privacy, and Comments policies. We reserve the right to delete or edit your comments for any reason, or use them in a future article. That said, YOU are responsible for YOUR comments - not us.

Related Posts with Thumbnails