Tuesday, November 30, 2004

// // Leave a Comment

Levels of Reaching Upward

From the book HaYom Yom, from Day to Day, for Nov. 27th of this year...

The author references the writings of Rabbi Shalom Dov-Ber Schneersohn, the 5th grand rabbi of Lubavitch...

...he explained a subject, of which this is the core:

There are Tzadik, Yashar, Tamim and Chassid.

Tzadik is so called regarding his fulfillment of the positive mitzvot, thereby eliciting revelations inherent in the creative order.

Yashar is so called regarding his fulfillment of the negative mitzvot - which draws forth revelations beyond the creative order.

Tamim, (man of) earnestness elicits revelations (from a level of G-dliness at which) "the taste of the tree and its fruit is the same" - the co-joining of the Encompassing (soveiv) and Permeating
(memalei) modes of Divine influence.

Highest of all is Chassid, and here there are three levels:

a) Worldly affairs do not disturb or distract him. Every individual can, and every individual must, attain this level.

b) All his affairs "are G-dliness." Though this level "is not distant from you etc.," it is still not within everyone's reach.

c) The level described in Tikunei Zohar, "Who is a chassid? He who conducts himself with benevolence towards his Creator - towards His nest" - which means that he seeks to unite the Holy One blessed be He, and His Shechina within those who dwell in the lower worlds - not merely to quench the thirst of his own soul; as explained in Tanya.


Post a Comment

Welcome to Mystical Paths comments. Have your say here, but please keep the tone reasonably civil and avoid lashon hara.

Your comments are governed by our Terms of Use, Privacy, and Comments policies. We reserve the right to delete or edit your comments for any reason, or use them in a future article. That said, YOU are responsible for YOUR comments - not us.

Related Posts with Thumbnails